



American National Standard

ANSI/HPS N13.30-2011 (R2017)

Performance Criteria for Radiobioassay

Approved 16 December 2011 Reaffirmed 14 June 2017

American National Standards Institute, Inc.



Published by

Health Physics Society 1313 Dolley Madison Blvd. Suite 402 McLean, VA 22101

Copyright © 2017 by the Health Physics Society. All rights reserved.

No part of this publication may be reproduced in any form, in an electronic retrieval system or otherwise, without prior written permission of the publisher.

Printed in the United States of America

ANSI/HPS N13.30-2011 (R2017)

This standard was consensus-balloted and approved by the ANSI/HPS N13 Committee on 9 December 2011. At the time of balloting, the N13 Committee had the following membership:

Chairperson Tracy A. Ikenberry Vice Chairperson Michelle L. Johnson American Association of Physicians in Medicine (AAPM) Robert A. Phillips American College of Occupational and Environmental Medicine Bryce Breitenstein American Industrial Hygiene Association (AIHA) Ray Johnson American Iron and Steel Institute Anthony La Mastra American Mining Congress Scott C. Munson American Nuclear Insurers Bob Oliveira American Nuclear Society (ANS) Nolan E. Hertel Conference of Radiation Control Program Directors (CRCPD) Earl Fordham **Chris Soares** Council on Ionizing Radiation Measurements and Standards (CIRMS) Council on Radionuclides and Radiopharmaceuticals, Inc. (CORAR) Leonard Smith Health Physics Society (HPS) Sandy Perle Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE) Mike Unterweger Institute of Nuclear Materials Management (INMM) Vacant National Council on Radiation Protection and Measurements (NCRP) **David Schauer** National Registry of Radiation Protection Technologists (NRRPT) **Dwaine Brown** Nuclear Energy Institute (NEI) Ralph L. Andersen U.S. Department of Commerce Thomas J. McGiff Joel Rabovsky U.S. Department of Energy U.S. Department of Defense Timothy Mikulski Don Potter U.S. Department of Homeland Security U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Mike Boyd U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Donald A. Cool U.S. Navy Luis A. Benevides Individual members Joseph P. Ring L. Max Scott Toshihide Ushino A. N. Tschaeche

The ANSI/HPS N13.30 Working Group responsible for the development of this standard had the following members:

Jay MacLellan, Chair Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

Steven Baker
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

Anita Bhatt
U.S. DOE Radiological and Environmental Sciences Laboratory

David McCurdy Technical Consultant

Dawn Lewis Los Alamos National Laboratory

> Frazier Bronson Canberra

Kenneth Inn
National Institute of Standards and Technology

Matt Lardy
TestAmerica Laboratories, Inc.

J. Stan Morton GEL Laboratories, LLC

Myint Thein
Oak Ridge National Laboratory, retired

Thomas LaBone MJW Corporation

The current working group gratefully acknowledges the valuable contributions from past working group member Allen Brodsky (Georgetown University).

This standard was interactively reviewed by members of the U.S. DOE Radiological and Environmental Sciences Laboratory. Individuals who reviewed and commented on the standard included Guy Marlette and Guy Backstrom.

Oversight for development of this standard was provided by the N13 Administrative Committee, which had the following members:

Chair: Tracy A. Ikenberry

Vice-Chair: Michelle L. Johnson

Secretary/Standards Coordinator: Nancy Johnson

Internal Dosimetry Section Manager: Timothy Lynch

Environmental Section Manager: Tracy A. Ikenberry (acting)

External Dosimetry Section Manager: Charles A. (Gus) Potter

Instrumentation Section Manager: Michelle Johnson (acting)

Medical and Operational Health Physics Section Manager: Robert Forrest