



**American National Standard** 

ANSI/HPS N13.44-2014

**Thyroid Phantom Used in Occupational Monitoring** 

**Approved 28 August 2014** 

American National Standards Institute, Inc.



Published by

Health Physics Society 1313 Dolley Madison Blvd. Suite 402 McLean, VA 22101

Copyright © 2014 by the Health Physics Society. All rights reserved.

No part of this publication may be reproduced in any form, in an electronic retrieval system or otherwise, without prior written permission of the publisher.

Printed in the United States of America

**ANSI/HPS N13.44-2014** 

The Health Physics Society Standards Committee Working Group responsible for this standard wishes to acknowledge previous members of this working group without whose efforts this standard would not have been achieved. The current working group had the following members:

Michael W. Mallett, Chair Los Alamos National Laboratory

Wesley E. Bolch University of Florida

Philip C. Fulmer Francis Marion University

Tracy M. Jue California Department of Public Health

David E. McCurdy Technical Consultant

Mike Pillay Medical Center The Hague

X. George Xu Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

This standard was consensus balloted and approved by Accredited Standards Committee (ASC) N13 on 26 June 2014. At the time of balloting, the Committee had the following membership:

Chairperson Michelle L. Johnson

American Association of Physicians in Medicine
Robert A. Phillips
Lynne Fairobent (alternate)

American College of Occupational and

Environmental Medicine Bryce Breitenstein

American Industrial Hygiene Association (AIHA) Ray Johnson

American Iron and Steel Institute

American Mining Congress

Scott C. Munson

American Nuclear Insurers

Marcia Anderson

Bob Oliveira (alternate)

American Nuclear Society (ANS)

Ali Simpkins

Conference of Radiation Control Program Directors (CRCPD) Earl Fordham

Council on Ionizing Radiation Measurements and

Standards (CIRMS) Chris Soares

Council on Radionuclides and

Radiopharmaceuticals, Inc. (CORAR)

Leonard Smith

Health Physics Society (HPS)

Sandy Perle

Wayne Glines (alternate)

Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE)

Mike Unterweger

Skip (Harrison) Karashi

Institute of Nuclear Materials Management (INMM) Skip (Harrison) Kerschner

National Council on Radiation Protection and

Measurements (NCRP) James Cassata

National Registry of Radiation Protection Technologists

(NRRPT) Dwaine Brown

Nuclear Energy Institute (NEI)

Ralph L. Andersen
Ellen Anderson (alternate)

U.S. Department of Commerce Thomas J. McGiff

U.S. Department of Energy Steve Zobel

Judy Foulke (alternate)

U.S. Department of Defense Tim Mikulski
John Cuellar (alternate)

U.S. Department of Homeland Security
Peter Chiaro
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Mike Boyd
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Donald A. Cool

U.S. Navy Jerry N. Sanders

Individual member Eric Darois
Individual member Tracy Ikenberry
Individual member Greg Komp
Individual member Joseph P. Ring
Individual member L. Max Scott
Individual member Toshihide Ushino